top of page
Search
  • josiahgonzales3

Reflection on Conversation with Danny Lopez and Garrett Tyler

Last Friday we had the privilege of having members of For King and Country speak to us and answer our questions in our Musical Leadership in the Church class. The musical directors Danny Lopez and Garrett Tyler invited us to participate in a conversation with them. Both of them have had successful careers in the music industry in Nashville, working with a variety of artists in and out of the Christian world. However, they have been working together with For King and Country for the past three years. They were able to answer our questions and give us a perspective we do not normally hear in our typical classes. They offered the perspective of the music industry, CCM songwriting and production, and touring.

After hearing a bit of their stories, they were able to answer our questions that covered several different aspects of music making and worship leading. I wasn’t able to ask my particular questions I had prepared, but some of my peers asked similar questions. I was interested in how they answered the question of how they participate in worship leading and how they balance that while performing in shows on tour. Basically what they said was, touring is not leading worship it is putting on a show. At first this rubbed me the wrong way that they didn’t see their performances as worship, but that wasn’t what they were saying. They were saying that their performances are not congregational, traditional, interactive, worship settings. They are more for the audience to be edified, encouraged, and even entertained by the refreshing joy and message of Christ. So, they are not ashamed to say that they are not putting on worship concerts like Elevation or Hillsong, but they don’t forget that they are carrying the message of the Gospel. This made me think of how Taylor’s Chorale and Sounds give concerts. They are not a typical worship setting, but they are still worshipful. I had to wrestle with that reality, but have learned to see that it is actually a really beautiful offering we get to give and way we can serve the Church and those outside of the Church. Maybe our goal isn’t “to put on a great show,” like Garret mentioned, but they are similar in that we are presenting Christ in a new and refreshing way.

Overall, I think they it was good that they came and talked with us. I think hearing their stories and perspectives reminded me that the music industry is a calling. God does want his people there and that is good. Despite my feelings and my biases, God does use the Christian music industry to build his Church. So, I thought it was helpful to put faces to the group of people I just referred to as “K-Love music.” I appreciate their work and am glad they are reaching people through the joy of music.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dyrness Chapter 3

Dyrness continues to explore the historical influence of how worship has affected our theology, and what he calls style and spirituality,...

Comments


bottom of page