top of page
Search
  • josiahgonzales3

Reflection on Joe and Zach’s Visit

We had more guests come into class today, local worship leaders, Joe and Zach, from Urban Light church in Muncie, IN. They came and spoke about the worship culture at their church, how that aligns with the greater mission of their church, as well as how they incorporate other cultures in their acts of worship.

I think they had really valuable things to say about worshiping outside of our comfort zone. That worship is a sacrifice, and sometimes that means a sacrifice of our preferences. So, the leadership who was used to what Joe referred to as “white bread worship” had to give that up in order to carry the mission of their church and the Kingdom. They found this however to be a freeing thing and a life-giving thing. It was uncomfortable to transition and still presents challenges at times with the congregation, but they found a joy in worship that they were missing. They emphasized that the Gospel genre of music has opened up their perspective to see worship as fun and not something that is meant to be somber. They are now utilizing the Gospel genre as well as Spanish worship to unify their band and congregation.

Reflecting on their time in class, I think I appreciate their ministry. I think they do great work for their church body and for the LORD. I also acknowledge, though, the moments where I was either offended or didn’t quite agree with how they were presenting their perspective. In some ways I was hurt or offended in the right ways, in others I think I can hold to my convictions. I believe that worship is meant to bring unity, to be joyful, to carry the human experience, and to magnify the LORD. They gave me more to consider in how worship can align itself in many other contexts.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dyrness Chapter 3

Dyrness continues to explore the historical influence of how worship has affected our theology, and what he calls style and spirituality,...

Commentaires


bottom of page