top of page
Search
  • josiahgonzales3

Refrain Songwriting Exercise

For class, we were challenged to write a song based on a refrain found in Scripture. I used the refrain, “My yoke is easy and my burden is light.” I haven’t set it to music so the lyrics may change some when I do, but this is the first draft.



It’s a beautiful day, but I can’t let myself be apart of it

I’ve put myself behind this glass and four walls

I found the key but don’t know where the lock is

But what I have is your whispering call


My yoke is easy and my burden is light


”It’s just who I am, an overthinker and a worrier”

I’m used to stress but that doesn’t mean it’s my friend

But why does my heart have to be so restless for hours

Let me be washed by this reminder again


My yoke is easy and my burden is light


I think I’ve found this precious treasure of David’s songs

A “fullness of joy” and “my cup overflowing”

I delight in the beauty of the days, despite being long

I will dance, and cry, and laugh while you’re singing


My yoke is easy and my burden is light

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dyrness Chapter 3

Dyrness continues to explore the historical influence of how worship has affected our theology, and what he calls style and spirituality,...

Commentaires


bottom of page