top of page
Search
  • josiahgonzales3

Why Lent?

Today is Ash Wednesday. Because of this, we had to read an explanation of what today means in relation to the season it begins in the Church calendar for class. We read a chapter from Robert E. Webber's Ancient-Future Time addressing the purpose and structure of the season of Lent. He introduces Lent through Ash Wednesday and the somberness of that service, then explains how every Sunday of Lent highlights the sin that keeps us from God but the fact the Jesus, the Second Adam, overcomes all our failures. Lent then leads to Holy Week and Easter. Much like Advent is the season anticipated Christmas, Lent is the season anticipating Easter. Webber addresses how this concept is foreign for many Evangelical Christians who do not follow the Church calendar of the Catholic Church, but emphasizes the beauty and truth that can be shown through the season of Lent.

I resonated with Webber when he said that he was aware of the season of Lent, but did not fully understand it. In the past, I have participated in Lent meaning that I would fast from something in my life for the 40 days leading up to Easter. However, my church, or the people around me, have never guided me through that process. I actually originally thought that Lent's primary symbolizm was to reflect of Jesus in the wilderness being tempted by Satan. While that is an aspect, after reading this chapter, I now know that there is more meaning than just Jesus in the wildnerness. I really appreciate the intentionality behind Lent and think it would be more beneficial for me to participate in now that I have more of an understanding. I would also recommend others to practice Lent if you have a fairly clear understanding of what the season tries to accomplish.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Trinity in Worship

This chapter focused on the Trinitarian nature of God and how we encounter the Trinity in worship, how worship forms our theology of the...

Dyrness Chapter 3

Dyrness continues to explore the historical influence of how worship has affected our theology, and what he calls style and spirituality,...

Comentários


bottom of page